Readers ask: Chapter 8 Test Study Guide Anatomy And Physiology What Are The Special 6 Senses?

What are the 6 special senses?

  • Visual system ( sense of vision)
  • Auditory system ( sense of hearing)
  • Vestibular system ( sense of balance)
  • Olfactory system ( sense of smell)
  • Gustatory system ( sense of taste)
  • Somatosensory system ( sense of touch)

What are the special senses anatomy?

In anatomy, special senses are the senses that have organs specifically devoted to them such as vision, gustation, olfaction, audition, and equilibrioception. These specialized organs include the tongue, the nose, the eyes and the ears. The tongue is a crucial organ in mechanical digestion and taste.

What are the three main accessory eye structures?

accessory structures of the eye – The external protective appendages and supplementary components of the eye, external to the eyeball, which contribute indirectly to vision and image formation; they include the eyebrows, the eyelids and eyelashes, the conjunctiva, the lacrimal apparatus and the extrinsic eye muscles.

You might be interested:  Question: How To Access My Onine Anatomy And Physiology Book?

Which of the following cranial nerves is not involved in transmitting impulses for the sense of taste?

Another cranial nerve (the trigeminal nerve, V) also innervates the tongue, but is not used for taste. Rather, the trigeminal nerve carries information related to touch, pressure, temperature and pain.

What are the 21 human senses?

Human external sensation is based on the sensory organs of the eyes, ears, skin, vestibular system, nose, and mouth, which contribute, respectively, to the sensory perceptions of vision, hearing, touch, spatial orientation, smell, and taste.

What are the 7 senses of the human body?

Did You Know There Are 7 Senses?

  • Sight (Vision)
  • Hearing (Auditory)
  • Smell (Olfactory)
  • Taste (Gustatory)
  • Touch (Tactile)
  • Vestibular (Movement): the movement and balance sense, which gives us information about where our head and body are in space.

What is sixth sense?

: a power of perception like but not one of the five senses: a keen intuitive power.

What are the 5 human senses?

Sight, Sound, Smell, Taste, and Touch: How the Human Body Receives Sensory Information.

What are the 5 special senses?

Humans have five special senses: olfaction (smell), gustation (taste), equilibrium (balance and body position), vision, and hearing. Additionally, we possess general senses, also called somatosensation, which respond to stimuli like temperature, pain, pressure, and vibration.

What are the 3 layers of the eye?

Topic Overview

  • The outer layer of the eyeball is a tough, white, opaque membrane called the sclera (the white of the eye ).
  • The middle layer is the choroid.
  • The inner layer is the retina, which lines the back two-thirds of the eyeball.
You might be interested:  Question: What Is The Axillaryline In Anatomy?

What is the correct pathway for vision?

The visual pathway consists of the retina, optic nerves, optic chiasm, optic tracts, lateral geniculate bodies, optic radiations, and visual cortex. The pathway is, effectively, part of the central nervous system because the retinae have their embryological origins in extensions of the diencephalon.

What are the four accessory structures of the eye?

Description. The accessory organs of the eye include the ocular muscles, the fasciæ, the eyebrows, the eyelids, the conjunctiva, and the lacrimal apparatus.

What are the five basic taste sensations?

5 basic tastes —sweet, sour, salty, bitter, and umami—are messages that tell us something about what we put into our mouth, so we can decide whether it should be eaten.

What are the three cranial nerves involved in taste?

The three nerves associated with taste are the facial nerve ( cranial nerve VII), which provides fibers to the anterior two-thirds of the tongue; the glossopharyngeal nerve ( cranial nerve IX), which provides fibers to the posterior third of the tongue; and the vagus nerve ( cranial nerve X), which provides fibers to the

Which is the sixth cranial nerve?

Cranial nerve six (CN VI ), also known as the abducens nerve, is one of the nerves responsible for the extraocular motor functions of the eye, along with the oculomotor nerve (CN III) and the trochlear nerve (CN IV).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *